Circulating Queerness : before the gay and lesbian novel by
Challenging the narrative that the gay and lesbian novel came into view in response to the emergence of homosexuality as a concept, Natasha Hurley posits a much longer history of this novelistic genre. She revises our understanding of the history of sexuality, as well as of the processes of producing new concepts and the evolution of new categories of language
Dreads and Open Mouths by
Describes an activist life of teaching and writing queerly over the past twenty years from the author's subject position as a queer immigrant scholar/teacher of color situated in the field of rhetoric and composition
Encyclopedia of Lesbian and Gay Histories and Cultures by
Beginning in 1869, when the study of homosexuality can be said to have begun with the establishment of sexology, this encyclopedia offers accounts of the most important international developments in an area that now occupies a critical place in many fields of academic endeavors. It covers a long history and a dynamic and ever changing present, while opening up the academic profession to new scholarship and new ways of thinking.
Gay and Lesbian Communities the World Over by
Gay and Lesbian Communities the World Over provides an innovative examination and comparison of the treatment and status of gays and lesbians in 21 countries. The book contains a country-by-country profile of each of the issues, describes treatment and status, reports on the pubic opinion data, and compares countries against each other.
Global encyclopedia of lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) history by
This encyclopedia covers LGBTQ topics in Africa, Asia, Europe, Latin America and the Caribbean, and the Middle East, as well as North America, and takes an interdisciplinary approach to the subject, using film, literature, human rights, politics, landmark legislation, activism, the arts, language, sports, and historical events as points of entry into the content.
Lesbian and Gay Studies : an introductory, interdisciplinary approach by
This timely book seeks to demonstrate the coherence of lesbian and gay studies. It introduces the reader to the principal inter-disciplinary approaches in the field and critically assesses their strengths and weaknesses whilst asking: What is lesbian and gay studies? When did it emerge? And what are its achievements and research agenda? The gay and lesbian movement has emerged as a major political and cultural force. It poses a series of far reaching questions about the organization of identity, the operation of power and the limits of tolerance. Lesbian and Gay Studies has emerged as a vital.
Letters to ONE by
"Long before the Stonewall riots, One magazine -- the first openly gay magazine in the United States -- offered a positive viewpoint of homosexuality and encouraged gay people to resist discrimination and persecution. Despite a limited monthly circulation of only a few thousand, the magazine influenced the substance, character, and tone of the early American gay rights movement. This book is a collection of letters written to the magazine, a small number of which were published in One, but most of them were not. The letters candidly explore issues such as police harassment of gay and lesbian communities, antigay job purges, and the philosophical, scientific, and religious meanings of homosexuality"
LGBTQ Social Movements by
In recent years, there has been substantial progress on lesbian, gay, bisexual, transgender, and queer (LGBTQ) civil rights in the United States. We are now, though, in a time of incredible political uncertainty for queer people. LGBTQ Social Movements provides an accessible introduction to mainstream LGBTQ movements in the US, illustrating the many forms that LGBTQ activism has taken since the mid-twentieth century. Covering a range of topics, including the Stonewall uprising and gay liberation, AIDS politics, queer activism, marriage equality fights, youth action, and bisexual and transgender justice, Lisa M. Stulberg explores how marginalized people and communities have used a wide range of political and cultural tools to demand and create change. The five key themes that guide the book are assimilationism and liberationism as complex strategies for equality, the limits and possibilities of legal change, the role of art and popular culture in social change, the interconnectedness of social movements, and the role of privilege in movement organizing. This book is an important tool for understanding current LGBTQ politics and will be essential reading for students and scholars of sexuality, LGBTQ studies, and social movements, as well as anyone new to thinking about these issues.
Mapping queer space(s) of praxis and pedagogy by
This book explores intersections of theory and practice to engage queer theory and education as it happens both in and beyond the university. Furthering work on queer pedagogy, this volume brings together educators and activists who explore how we see, write, read, experience, and, especially, teach through the fluid space of queerness. The editors and contributors are interested in how queer-identified and -influenced people create ideas, works, classrooms, and other spaces that vivify relational and (eco)systems thinking, thus challenging accepted hierarchies, binaries, and hegemonies that have long dominated pedagogy and praxis.
Now You See It : studies in lesbian and gay film by
This study of films by and about lesbians and gay men has been revised for a second edition and features an introduction outlining developments in lesbian and gay cinema since 1990.
Out and Running : gay and lesbian candidates, elections, and policy representation by
This volume presents an analysis of the political representation of gay and lesbian elected candidates and elected officials within government institutions, especially at the state level. It presents a number of findings about the strategies of LGBT candidates for state legislative office, the conditions under which they run and get elected, and most importantly, how electing LGBT legislators helps efforts to shape policies favored by the LGBT rights movement.
Outlooks : lesbian and gay sexualities and visual cultures by
A comprehensive exploration of what constitutes a lesbian and gay artist and what differentiates them from their audience.
The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook by
Resilience is a key ingredient for psychological health and wellness. Packed with evidence-based activities and exercises, The Queer and Transgender Resilience Workbook makes years of research on resilience accessible to queer and transgender adults. This book teaches readers to challenge internalized negative messages, handle stress, embrace who they are, remove obstacles from their life, and ultimately build a life that matters in a world still filled with micro-aggressions and discrimination.
Queering narratives of domestic violence and abuse : victims and/or perpetrators? by
This book is the first to focus on violent and/or 'abusive' behaviours in lesbian, gay, bisexual and/or transgender, non-binary gender or genderqueer people's intimate relationships. It provides fresh empirical data from a comprehensive mixed-methods study and novel theoretical insights to destabilise and queer existing narratives about intimate partner violence and abuse (IPVA). Key to the analysis, the book argues, is the extent to which Michael Johnson's landmark typology of IPVA can be used to make sense of the survey data and accounts of 'abusive' behaviours given by LGB and/or T+ participants. As well as calling for IPVA scholars to challenge heteronormativity and cisnormativity and improve IPVA measurement, this book offers guidance and a new tool to assist practitioners from a variety of relationships services with identifying victims/survivors and perpetrators in LGB and/or T+ people's relationships. It will appeal to academics and practitioners in the field of domestic violence and abuse.
Sexuality, Subjectivity, and LGBTQ Militancy in the United States by
As LGBTQ movements in Western Europe, North America, and other regions of the world are becoming more successful at awarding LGBTQ people rights, especially institutional recognition for same-sex couples and their families, what becomes of the deeper social transformation that these movements initially aimed to achieve? The United States is in many ways a paradigmatic model for LGBTQ movements in other countries. This text focuses on the transformations of the US LGBTQ movement since the 1980s, highlighting the relationship between its institutionalization and the disappearance of sexuality from its most visible claims, so that its growing visibility and legitimation since the 1990s have paradoxically led to a decrease in grassroots militancy. The book examines the issue from the bottom up, identifying the links between the varying importance of sexuality as a movement theme and actors' mobilization, and enhances the import of subjectivity in militancy. It draws attention to cultural, sometimes infrapolitical, forms of militancy that perpetuate the role of sexuality in LGBTQ militancy.
Terrorizing Gender by
Using an interdisciplinary framework, Fischer connects media coverage with the state regulation of trans people to show how, despite some increase in positive depictions, negative representations of trans people as deceptive, deviant, and threatening still permeate mass-mediated discourses used to justify, even normalize, state-sanctioned violence against gender non-conforming populations
Trans* in College by
This is both a personal book that offers an account of the author's own trans* identity and a deeply engaged study of trans* collegians that reveals the complexities of trans* identities, and how these students navigate the trans* oppression present throughout society and their institutions, create community and resilience, and establish meaning and control in a world that assumes binary genders. This book is addressed as much to trans* students themselves -- offering them a frame to understand the genders that mark them as different and to address the feelings brought on by the weight of that difference -- as it is to faculty, student affairs professionals, and college administrators, opening up the implications for the classroom and the wider campus. This book not only remedies the paucity of literature on trans* college students, but does so from a perspective of resiliency and agency. Rather than situating trans* students as problems requiring accommodation, this book problematizes the college environment and frames trans* students as resilient individuals capable of participating in supportive communities and kinship networks, and of developing strategies to promote their own success.
Transgender Cinema by
Transgender Cinema gives readers the big picture of how trans people have been depicted on screen. Beginning with a history of trans tropes in classic Hollywood cinema, from comic drag scenes in Chaplin's The Masquerader to Garbo's androgynous Queen Christina, and from psycho killer queers to The Rocky Horror Picture Show's outrageous queen, it examines a plethora of trans portrayals that subsequently emerged from varied media outlets, including documentary films, television serials, and world cinema. Along the way, it analyzes milestones in trans representation, like The Crying Game, Boys Don't Cry, Hedwig and the Angry Inch, and A Fantastic Woman. As it traces the evolution of trans people onscreen, Transgender Cinema also considers the ongoing controversies sparked by these movies and series both within LGBTQ communities and beyond. Ultimately it reveals how film and television have shaped not only how the general public sees trans people, but also how trans people see themselves.
Copyright © 2023 Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute (RPI)